

INTERNATIONAL UNION OF CRYSTALLOGRAPHY

President: Prof. S. Larsen (Denmark) – Vice-President: Prof. P. Colman (Australia) Past President: Prof. Y. Ohashi (Japan) – General Secretary & Treasurer: Prof. S. Lidin (Sweden)

Ordinary members of Executive Committee: Prof. E. Boldyreva (Russia), Prof. G.R. Desiraju (India), Prof. C.J. Gilmore (UK), Prof. M. Hackert (USA), Prof. C. Lecomte (France), Prof. J.M. Perez-Mato (Spain)

August 2010

To National Committees for Crystallography

International Year of Crystallography

Dear Colleagues

If you have read the last *Letter from the President* in the July 2010 *IUCr Newsletter* you will know that the IUCr Executive Committee aims to make 2013 the International Year of Crystallography (IYCr). This year will provide a framework for the celebrations of the centennials of diffraction of X-rays discovered by Max von Laue and of the use of X-rays in the determination of crystal structures by the Braggs (father and son). In addition to the celebrations of the centennials that formed the basis for the development of crystallography, the IYCr will also serve to inform the general public, students, other scientists and funding agencies about the significance of crystallographic science in its broadest sense as structural science with photons and neutrons.

The IYCr should be used to promote crystallography both worldwide and at the national level. An important prerequisite for the promotional activities would be to gather and organize all the material that you and other National Crystallographic Committees and Associations have created. A dedicated IYCr web site will play an important role in this process. The IUCr will promote international cooperation by coordinating the transfer between countries of material that can be used for the national initiatives in the IYCr.

2011 will be the International Year of Chemistry and previously 2009 and 2005 were celebrated as the International Years of Astronomy and Physics, respectively. If you consult their web sites you will find ideas for the kinds of arrangements that can take place in an International scientific Year.

The aim of this letter is to initiate the work for IYCr–2013 in your National Crystallographic Committee, for example by starting to consider the arrangements that you would like to make within the framework of the IYCr to bring a focus to crystallography in your region, and what is needed to make these a reality.

Recently I had the opportunity to present the ideas of the IYCr at the ACA meeting in Chicago and was delighted to have very positive feedback with many ideas on what one could to promote crystallography. I hope to have the opportunity to give more details about the ideas of the IYCr to representatives from your national crystallographic communities at meetings during the coming months.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in case any additional information on the IYCr is needed. Any feedback from you and suggestions for IYCr arrangements will be highly appreciated.

I look forward to hearing from you

Yours sincerely

Sine Lassen

Sine Larsen

President International Union of Crystallography (sine@kemi.ku.dk)

President: Professor S. Larsen, Department of Chemistry, University of Copenhagen, Universitetsparken 5, 2100 Copenhagen, Denmark Telephone: +45 353 20282 – Fax: +45 353 20322 – E-mail: sine@kemi.ku.dk

General Secretary & Treasurer: Professor S. Lidin, Inorganic Chemistry, Stockholm University, 106 91 Stockholm, Sweden Telephone: +46 (8) 161 256 – Fax: +46 (8) 152 187 – E-mail: sven@inorg.su.se

Executive Secretary: Mr M.H. Dacombe, IUCr Secretariat, 2 Abbey Square, Chester CH1 2HU, UK

Telephone: +44 1244 345431 - Fax: +44 1244 344843 - E-mail: execsec@iucr.org